Dissertation Awards

Dissertation Awards

Dissertation Awards

The Nevins and Gerschenkron prizes are awarded annually for the best dissertations on North American and non-North American topics completed during the previous year. Six finalists, three for each award, are chosen to present dissertation summaries at the Association’s annual meetings each fall. Finalists will receive funds to defray travel expenses, and award recipients receive a cash prize.

Scholars submitting a dissertation may not, in the same year, submit a proposal to the general program that is part of or derived from the dissertation.  On an exception basis, the Association will allow a two-year window following thesis completion for submission.

Alexander Gerschenkron Prize

The Alexander Gerschenkron Prize is awarded for the best dissertation in the economic history of an area outside of the United States or Canada published during the preceding year.

Allan Nevins Prize

The Allan Nevins Prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press for the best dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History published during the preceding year.