Publication Awards

Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize

The Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book in Global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American Economic History


The Lindert-Williamson Prize for an outstanding book in global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American economic history will be presented at the EHA annual meeting. This $1,200 prize is biennially, and will be offered concurrently with the Ranki Prize for a book in European economic history.

Eligibility and Nominations: Only books published in English during 2023 or 2024 are eligible for the 2025 prize. The author need not be a member of the Association. Authors, publishers, or anyone else may nominate books. Authors or publishers should send a copy of the book, plus a curriculum vitae of the author(s), with current information on addresses and telephone numbers, to each member of the committee.

Some books are comparative in their coverage, and could potentially be considered for multiple prizes. They may be nominated for whichever prize seems appropriate, but final decision will be made by the appropriate committees. No book may be considered for more than one prize. Once considered for a prize, a book may not subsequently be nominated for a different prize.

Whoever nominates a book should send a copy of the book and the curriculum vitae of the author(s) to each of the members of the committee (see below). Nominators should also email the committee members to notify them that a book will be forthcoming.

Committee Chair:

Marlous van Waijenburg
Harvard Business School
Morgan Hall 278
Boston, MA 02163

          Other committee members:

Farley Grubb
University of Delaware
Department of Economics
College of Business & Economics
Newark, DE 19716

Leigh Gardner
London School of Economics
Department of Economic History
Houghton Street, London
United Kingdon, WC2A 2AE

Alfonso Herranz-Loncán
Department of Economic History
University of Barcelona
Diagonal, 690

          Coşkun Tunçer
          Department of History
          University College London
          Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT
          United Kingdom

Congratulations to the 2023 Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize Winner

Leigh Gardner, London School of Economics for the book: Sovereignty without Power: Liberia in the Age of Empires, 1822–1980

Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize​ Winners

2023 Leigh Gardner, London School of Economics Sovereignty without Power: Liberia in the Age of Empires, 18221980 Cambridge University Press. 2022
2021 Ron Harris Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700 Princeton University Press
Gregg Huff World War II and Southeast Asia, Economy and Society under Japanese Occupation Cambridge University Press
2019 Jared Rubin Chapman University Rulers, Religion, and Riches: Why the West Got Rich and the Middle East Did Not Cambridge University Press