The Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book in Global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American Economic History


The Lindert-Williamson Prize for an outstanding book in global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American economic history will be presented at the Association’s annual meeting in September of 2023. This $1,200 prize is biennially, and will be offered concurrently with the Ranki Prize for a book in European economic history.

Eligibility and Nominations: Only books published in English during 2021 or 2022 are eligible for the 2023 prize. The author need not be a member of the Association. Authors, publishers, or anyone else may nominate books. Authors or publishers should send a copy of the book, plus a curriculum vitae of the author(s), with current information on addresses and telephone numbers, to each member of the committee.

Some books are comparative in their coverage, and could potentially be considered for multiple prizes. They may be nominated for whichever prize seems appropriate, but final decision will be made by the appropriate committees.  No book may be considered for more than one prize.  Once considered for a prize, a book may not subsequently be nominated for a different prize.

Whoever nominates a book should send a copy of the book and the curriculum vitae of the author(s) to each of the members of the committee (see below). Nominators should also email the committee members to notify them that a book will be forthcoming.

Committee Chair:

Latika Chaudhary 

Department of Defense Management
1 University Circle
Naval Postgraduate School
Monterey,  CA 93943

Other committee members:

Marlous van Waijenburg
Harvard Business School
Morgan Hall 278
Boston, MA 02163

Farley Grubb
University of Delaware
Department of Economics
College of Business & Economics
Newark, DE 19716

Alfonso Herranz-Loncán
Department of Economic History
University of Barcelona
Diagonal, 690