Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History

The annual Jonathan Hughes Prize is awarded to recognize excellence in teaching economic history (both at the undergraduate and graduate level). Jonathan Hughes was an outstanding scholar and a committed and influential teacher of economic history. The prize includes a $1,200 cash award. The winner is selected by the EHA Committee on Education and Teaching.


The Committee on Education of the Economic History Association invites nominations for the 30th annual Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History. Letters of nomination should state what qualities of excellence the candidate’s teaching of economic history has embodied. The strength of the nominating letter will be the primary basis for selecting the pool of finalists for the prize. After arriving at a short list of finalists, the committee will gather further supporting information. Anyone is eligible to write a letter of nomination.

Letters of nomination should be sent to:

Professor Samuel K. Allen
Virginia Military Institute
Department of Economics & Business
229 Scott Shipp Hall
Lexington, VA

Other members of the committee are:

Professor Kirsten Wandschneider
Economics Department & Department of Economic and Social History
University of Vienna

Andy Seltzer       
Department of Economics
Royal Holloway, University of London