Gyorgy Ranki Biennial Prize

The Gyorgy Ranki Biennial Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book on the Economic History of Europe


The Ranki Prize was established by the Economic History Association in 1989 to honor the late Gyorgy Ranki, a distinguished Hungarian economic historian who taught in both Hungary and the United States. The Ranki Prize is awarded biennially for an outstanding book in European economic history and is in the amount of $1,200. It alternates with the Alice Hanson Jones Prize for a book in North American (including Caribbean) economic history and coincides with the the Lindert-Williamson Prize.

The 15th Ranki Prize will be awarded in September 2023 for a book published in 2021 or 2022.

To be eligible, a book must be published in English and must, in whole or in substantial part, treat aspects of European economic history in any period from classical antiquity to the present. For purposes of this prize, Europe is understood to include European Russia as well as the British Isles. Books that compare European experience to that of other parts of the world, or that use historical information to examine present or anticipate future issues and trends, are also eligible as long as they pay significant attention to European economic history.

Nominations for the prize may be made by authors, publishers, or anyone else. Authors of nominated books need not be members of the Economic History Association. Date of publication rather than date of copyright determines eligibility. Translations of books published previously in a language other than English are eligible in the year of publication in English.

Whoever nominates a book should send a copy of the book and the curriculum vitae of the author(s) to each of the five members of the Ranki Prize committee.

For 2022-23, the chair of the committee is:

Professor Amanda Gregg
303 College Street (Warner Hall)
Department of Economics
Middlebury College
MiddleburyVT 05753

Other members of the committee include:

Professor Cormac Ó Gráda
44 Whitebeam Road
Dublin 14, IRL

Professor Metin Cosgel
The University of Connecticut
Department of Economics, Unit 1063
Storrs, CT 06269-1063

Professor Olivier Accominotti
London School of Economics
Dept of Economic History
Houghton Street
United Kingdom

Professor Emerita Carol E. Heim

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Department of Economics
Crotty Hall
412 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01002-2900