The EHA recognizes excellence in research, publication, and teaching of economic history by awarding several annual and biennial prizes at the President’s Awards Banquet during the annual meetings. Each fall the Announcements page on this web site and the EHA newsletter include Calls for Nominations and submission information.

Dissertation Awards

The Nevins and Gerschenkron prize are awarded annually for the best dissertations on North-American and non-North American topics completed during the previous year. Six finalists, three for each award, will be chosen to present dissertation summaries  at the Seventy First Annual Meeting of the Economic History Association in Washington DC in September 2013. Finalists will receive $500 to defray travel expenses (Finalists travelling internationally will receive $800). Award recipients receive a cash prize of $1,200.

Scholars submitting a dissertation may not in the same year submit a proposal to the general program that is part of or derived from the dissertation.  On an exception basis the Association will allow a two year window following thesis completion for submission.

Eligibility:  Those who received their Ph.D. between May 16, 2012 and May 15, 2013 are eligible and invited to submit their dissertation for consideration.  All candidates for these prizes must be members of the Economic History Association.  Dissertations submitted for consideration must be in English.  Submission of a dissertation implies that candidates are prepared to attend the 2013 meetings in Washington DC.  Presentation of a dissertation summary is required by all finalists.  To be considered for these prizes completed dissertations must be submitted in hard copy on or before May 15, 2013.  Notices announcing the selection of finalists will be sent to all candidates by July 24, 2013.  Dissertations will only be returned to candidates if a self-addressed envelope is provided at the time of submission.


Allan Nevins Prize

The Allan Nevins Prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press for the best dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History published during the preceding year.


Please send submitted dissertations to:

Professor Ian Keay
Department of Economics
Queen’s University
94 University Avenue
Kingston, ON, Canada
K7L 3N6



Alexander Gerschenkron Prize

  • The Alexander Gerschenkron Prize is awarded for the best dissertation in the economic history of an area outside of the United States or Canada published during the preceding year.

Please send submitted dissertations to:

Professor Dan Bogart
Department of Economics
University of California, Irvine
3151 Social Science Plaza
Irvine, CA, 92697-5100



Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History

The annual Jonathan Hughes Prize is awarded to recognize excellence in teaching economic history. Jonathan Hughes was an outstanding scholar and a committed and influential teacher of economic history. The prize includes a $1,200 cash award. The winner is selected by the EHA Committee on Education and Teaching.


The Committee on Education of the Economic History Association invites nominations for the fourteenth annual Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History. Letters of nomination should state what qualities of excellence the candidate’s teaching of economic history has embodied. The strength of the nominating letter will be the primary basis for selecting the pool of finalists for the prize. After arriving at a short list of finalists, the committee will gather further supporting information. Anyone is eligible to write a letter of nomination.

Letters of nomination should should be sent to:

Professor Melissa Thomasson
Department of Economics
Miami University
Oxford, OH 45056

Other members of the committee are:

Professor Chris Hanes
Department of Economics
Binghamton University
State University of New York
PO Box 6000
Binghamton, NY 13902-6000

Professor  Eric Hilt
Department of Economics
Welleslesy College
106 Central St
Wellesley MA 02481


Publication Awards

Alice Hanson Jones Biennial Prize

Alice Hanson Jones Biennial Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book on North American Economic History


The Alice Hanson Jones Prize for an outstanding book in North American (including Caribbean) economic history will be presented at the Association’s annual meeting in Columbus, Ohio in September of 2014. This $1,200 prize is awarded biennially and alternates with the Gyorgi Ranki Prize for a book in European economic history.

Eligibility and Nominations: Only books published in English during 2012 or 2013 are eligible for the 2014 prize. The author need not be a member of the Association. Authors, publishers, or anyone else may nominate books. Authors or publishers should send a copy of the book, plus a curriculum vitae of the author(s), with current information on addresses and telephone numbers, to each member of the committee.


Gyorgy Ranki Biennial Prize

The Gyorgy Ranki Biennial Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book on the Economic History of Europe


The Ranki Prize was established by the Economic History Association in 1989 to honor the late Gyorgy Ranki, a distinguished Hungarian economic historian who taught in both Hungary and the United States. The Ranki Prize is awarded biennially for an outstanding book in European economic history and is in the amount of $1,200. It alternates with the Alice Hanson Jones Prize for a book in North American (including Caribbean) economic history.

The tenth Ranki Prize will be awarded in September 2013 for a book published in 2011 or 2012

To be eligible, a book must be published in English and must, in whole or in substantial part, treat aspects of European economic history in any period from classical antiquity to the present. For purposes of this prize, Europe is understood to include European Russia as well as the British Isles. Books that compare European experience to that of other parts of the world, or that use historical information to examine present or anticipate future issues and trends, are also eligible as long as they pay significant attention to European economic history.

Nominations for the prize may be made by authors, publishers, or anyone else. Authors of nominated books need not be members of the Economic History Association. Date of publication rather than date of copyright determines eligibility. Translations of books published previously in a language other than English are eligible in the year of publication in English.

Whoever nominates a book should send a copy of the book and the curriculum vitae of the author(s) to each of the five members of the Ranki Prize committee.

For 2013, the chair of the committee is

Professor Joerg Baten
Chair of Economic History
Department of Economics
University of Tuebingen, and CESifo Research Network
Mohlstr. 36, D-72074 Tuebingen, Germany

Other members of the committee include

Professor Bruce Carruthers
Department of Sociology
Northwsetern University
Evanston, IL 60208-1330

Professor Petra Moser
Department of Economics
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305

Professor Joyce Burnette
Department of Economics
Wabash College
Crawfordsville, IN 47933

Jane Humphries
All Souls College
High Street
Oxford OX1 4AL
United Kingdom


  • Arthur H. Cole Prize is awarded annually by the Editorial Board of the Journal of Economic History for the best article in the previous year’s volume of the Journal.

Previous Prize Winners