Each year the Economic History Association awards numerous grants and fellowships to deserving young scholars. Additionally, Cambridge University Press has made a generous donation to help the EHA endow one of the Dissertation Fellowships and two of the Early-Stage Dissertation Grants.

The 2023 recipients are:

Arthur H. Cole Grant in Aid for Post-Doctoral Research
Christopher Absell, University of Gothenburg
Jingyi Huang, Brandeis University
Hannah Postel, Stanford University
Ethan Schmick, Marquette University
Hanna Schwank, University of Bonn

Economic History Association Dissertation Fellowships
Arielle Alterwaite, University of Pennsylvania
William Cockriel, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Amy Cross, American University and NBER

Cambridge University Press Dissertation Fellowship
Dongkyu Yang, University of Colorado – Boulder

Sokoloff Dissertation Fellowships
Auriane Terki Mignot, University of Cambridge
Qiyi Zhao, Stanford University

Cambridge University Press Early-Stage Dissertation Grants
Pablo Andrés Valenzuela Casasempere, The University of British Columbia
Alvaro Calderon, Stanford University

Economic History Association Early-Stage Dissertation Grants
Ellen Anderson, University of California, Davis
Alina Bykova, Stanford University
Leo Dolan, UC3M Madrid
Kexin Feng, California Institute of Technology
Christoph A. Hess, University of Cambridge
Benjamin Jaros, Clemson University
Guohui Jiang, University of Zurich
Zachary Luther, Vanderbilt University
Spencer McCloy, Florida State University

For more information on the Grants and Fellowships awarded by EHA go to: