Each year the Economic History Association awards numerous grants and fellowships to deserving young scholars. Additionally, Cambridge University Press has made a generous donation to help the EHA endow one of the Dissertation Fellowships and two of the Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants.


The 2019 awardees are:

Arthor H. Cole Grant in Aid for Post-Doctoral Research :
Maggie Jones, University of Victoria
Scott Miller, University of Virginia and Yale School of Management
Anne Ruderman, London School of Economics


Economic History Association Dissertation Fellowships
Maylis Avaro, The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva
Shmuel San, New York University


Cambridge University Press Dissertation Fellowship
Chelsea Carter, Boston University


Sokoloff Dissertation Fellowship
Oliver Bush, London School of Economics
Laura Taylor, University of Arizona


Cambridge University Press Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants
Mark Hup, University of California_Irvine
Ryan Stevens, New York University


Economic History Association Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants
Ashish Aggarwal, University of Warwick
Tamoghna Halder, University of California_Davis
Hae Nim (Sunny) Lee, University of Pennsylvania
Mingxi Li, University of California_Davis
Martina Miotto, University of Warwick
Piyush Panigrahi, University of California_Berkeley
Martin Schmitz, Vanderbilt University
Colin Sharpe, Vanderbilt University
Spencer Stewart, University of Chicago


For more information on the Grants and Fellowships awarded by EHA go to: