Each year the Economic History Association awards numerous grants and fellowships to deserving young scholars. Additionally, Cambridge University Press has made a generous donation to help the EHA endow one of the Dissertation Fellowships and two of the Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants.


The 2017 awardees are:

Arthor H. Cole Grant in Aid for Post-Doctoral Research :
Vellore Arthi, University of Essex
Michela Giorcelli, UCLA
Anthony Wray, Hitotsubashi University


Economic History Association Dissertation Fellowships
Juan Sebastian Balan, Harvard University
Sun Kyoung Lee, Columbia University


Cambridge University Press Dissertation Fellowship
Keith Meyers, University of Arizona


Sokoloff Dissertation Fellowship
Natalya Naumenko, Northwestern University
Chenzi Xu, Harvard University


Cambridge University Press Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants
Chelsea Carter, Boston University
Vitaly Titov, UCLA


Economic History Association Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants
Panarat Anamwathana, University of Oxford
Moya Chin, Harvard University
David Escamillia-Guerrero, London School of Economics
Aparna Howlader, University of Illinois_Urbana Champaign
Aroop Mukharji, Harvard University
Michael Poyker, UCLA
Gianluca Russo, Boston University
Lingwei Wu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Heyu Xiong, Northwestern University


For more information on the Grants and Fellowships awarded by EHA go to: