The Alice Hanson Jones Biennial Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book on North American Economic History.


The Alice Hanson Jones Prize for an outstanding book in North American (including Caribbean) economic history will be presented at the Association’s annual meeting in September of 2022. This $1,200 prize is awarded biennially and alternates with the Gyorgi Ranki Prize for a book in European economic history.

Eligibility and Nominations: Only books published in English during 2020 or 2021 are eligible for the 2022 prize. The author need not be a member of the Association. Authors, publishers, or anyone else may nominate books. Authors or publishers should send a copy of the book, plus a curriculum vitae of the author(s), with current information on addresses and telephone numbers, to each member of the committee.

Selection Committee:

Professor Joseph Ferrie
Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2600

Professor Daniel Fetter
Stanford Economics Department
579 Jane Stanford Way
Stanford, CA 94305
Professor Andrew A. Bossie
Department of Economics
New Jersey City University
262 22nd St
Brooklyn, NY  11215
Professor Ariell Zimran
Department of Economics
Vanderbilt University
VU Station B #351819
2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN  37325
Professor Alan Dye
Department of Economics
Barnard College
3009 Broadway
New York, NY 10027