The Economic History Association announced the 2016 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in Boulder, CO.

James Feigenbaum received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Essays on Intergenerational Mobility and Inequality in Economic History”, completed at the Harvard University. (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Reka Juhasz received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Temporary Protection, Technology Adoption and Economic Development”, completed at London School of Economics. Advisor: Silvana Tenreyro

Frank Lewis, Queen’s University, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Werner Troesken, Brian Beach, Joe Ferrie, and Martin Saavedrawere were awarded the Cole Prize for their article “Typhoid Fever, Water Quality, and Human Capital Formation.”, published in the March 2016 issue of the Journal of Economic History.

Barry Eichengreen, University of California_Berkeley, was awarded the Alice Hanson Jones Prize for his book, Hall of Mirrors: The Great Depression, The Great Recession, and the Uses-and Misuses-of History, Oxford University Press 2015.

Congratulations to the 2016 awardees!