The Economic History Association announced the 2021 prize winners at this year’s Annual Meeting in Tucson, AZ.

Brian Marein, University of Toronto, received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “The Economic Development of Puerto Rico after United States Annexation”, completed at University of Colorado. (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Emiliano Travieso Barris, Carlos III University of Madrid,  received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Resources, Environment, and Rural Development in Uruguay, 1779-1913″, completed at the University of Cambridge.

Jari Eloranta, University of Helsinki, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Ron Harris and Gregg Huff  shared the Lindert-Williamson Biennial Prize for Outstanding Book in Global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American History. Harris was awarded for his book “Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700”: Princeton U Press. Huff was awarded for his book “World War II and Southeast Asia, Economy and Society under Japanese Occupation”, Cambridge Univ Press.

Neil Cummins was awarded the Cole Prize for his article ““Where is the Middle Class? Evidence from 60 million English Death and Probate Records, 1892-1992,” Journal of Economic History, 81(2): 359-404.”

The Ranki Prize, awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book on the Economic History of Europe, went to two books this year: Sheilagh Ogilvie was awarded for her book “The European Guilds”, (Princeton University Press, 2019) and Philip Hoffman, Gilles Postel-Vinay, and Jean-Laurent Rosenthal were awarded for their book “Dark Matter Credit”, (Princeton University Press, 2019).

Steven Ruggles was awarded the Gallman-Parker Prize for his lifetime contributions in creating, compiling, and sharing data.

The award for Excellence in Refereeing for the Journal of Economic History went to Steven Nafziger, Williams College.

The award for Exceptional Service to the Journal of Economic History Editorial Board went to  Karen Clay, Carnegie Mellon University.

Guillaume Blanc, Brown University,  and Romain Wacziarg, UCLA, Anderson, were awarded the Larry Neal Prize for their article “Change and Persistence in the Age of Modernization: Saint-Germain-d’Anxure, 1730-1895”, Explorations in Economic History, Vol 78, October 2020.

Dan Aaronson, Chicago Fed, and Vellore Arthi, University of California, Irvine, were honored for their service as outstanding reviewers for Explorations in Economic History.

Congratulations to the 2021 awardees!