The Economic History Association announced the 2020 prize winners at this year’s Annual Meeting (Virtual).

Sarah Quincy, Vanderbilt University, received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Back to Good Times: The Real Effects of Credit in Great-Depression California, completed at University of California, Davis. (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Robin John Charles Adams, Queen’s University Belfast,  received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Shadow of a Taxman: How and by whom was the Republican Government financed in
the Irish War of Independence (1919-1921), completed at the Oxford University

Anne McCants, MIT, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Benjamin Sidney Michael Schwantes  was awarded the Alice Hanson Jones Biennial Prize for Outstanding Book on North American Economic History. He was awarded for his book “The Train and the Telegraph: A Revisionist History”, Johns Hopkins University Press, 2019.

Sam Williamson, Measuring Worth, was awarded the Engerman-Goldin Prize for creating, compiling, and sharing data and information with scholars.

Felipe González, Mounu Prem, and Francisco Urzúa were awarded the Cole Prize for their article “The Privatization Origins of Political Corporations: Evidence from the Pinochet Regime”, Journal of Economic History, 80(2):417-456, 2020

The award for Excellence in Refereeing for the Journal of Economic History went to Taylor Jaworski, University of Colorado, Boulder.

The award for Exceptional Service to the Journal of Economic History Editorial Board went to  Latika Chaudhary, Naval Postgraduate School.

Congratulations to the 2020 awardees!