The Economic History Association announced the 2019 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in Atlanta.

Ellora Derenoncourt, Princeton University, received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Long-run determinants of US racial inequality: Evidence from the Great Migration and the FLSA”, completed at Harvard University. Advisors: Lawrence Katz and Claudia Goldin (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Yuzuru Kumon, University of Bocconi,  received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Rich Europe, Poor Asia: How Wealth Inequality, Demography and Crop Risks Explain the Poverty of Pre-Industrial East Asia, 1300-1800″, completed at the University of California_Davis. Advisors: Gregory Clark (chair), Christopher Meissner, Michael Carter, Peter Lindert, and Katherine Eriksson.

Joel Mokyr, Northwestern University, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Alexander Persaud, University of Richmond, was awarded the Cole Prize for his article “Escaping Local Risk by Entering Indentureship: Evidence from Nineteenth-Century Indian Migration”, published in the  Journal of Economic History 79 (2).

Ran Abramitzky was awarded Gyorgy Ranki Biennial Prize for the outstanding book on the Economic History of Europe. He was awarded for his book “The mystery of the kibbutz: Egalitarian principles in a capitalist world”, Princeton University Press (February 2018)

Jared Rubin, Chapman University, was awarded the inaugural Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize for an Outstanding Book in Global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American Economic History. He was awarded for his book “Rulers, Religion, and Riches: Why the West Got Rich and the Middle East Did Not”, New York: Cambridge University Press.

Peter Lindert, University of California_Davis, and Jeffrey Williamson, Harvard University,  were awarded the Gallman-Parker Prize for creating, compiling, and sharing data and information with scholars over the course of their careers.

Jean-Pascal Bassino, Stephen Broadberry, Kyoji Fukao, Bishnupriya Gupta and Masanori Takashima were awarded the Larry Neal Prize for their article “Japan and the great divergence, 730-1874” published in Explorations in American History, Volume 72, April 2019.

The award for Excellence in Refereeing for the Journal of Economic History went to John Tang, University of Melbourne, and Zach Ward, BaylorUniversity.

The award for Excellence in Refereeing for Explorations in Economic History went to Santiago Perez, University of California_Davis and Giovanni Federico, University of Pisa.

Congratulations to the 2019 awardees!