The Economic History Association announced the 2018 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in Montreal.

Gillian Brunet received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Understanding The Effects of Fiscal Policy: Measurement, Mechanisms, and Lessons from History”, completed at the University of California_Berkeley. Advisors: Christina Romer (chair), Barry Eichengreen, Yuriy Gorodnichenko, Noam Yuchtman. (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Erik Prawitz received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “On the Move: Essays on the Economic and Political Development of Sweden”, completed at Stockholm University. Advisors: Jakob Svensson (chair), Torsten Persson and David Strömberg

Howard Bodenhorn, Clemson University, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Mohamed Saleh, Toulouse School of Economics, was awarded the Cole Prize for his article “On the Road to Heaven: Taxation, Conversion, and the Coptic-Muslim Socioeconomic Gap in Medieval Egypt”, published in the June 2018 issue of the Journal of Economic History.

There was a tie for the Alice Hansen Jones Prize this year.  Leah Platt Boustan was awarded for her book “Competition in the Promised Land: Black Migrants in Northern Cities and Labor Markets” published by Princeton University Press and  Douglas Irwin was awarded for his book “Clashing over Commerce: A History of U.S. Trade Policy” published by University of Chicago Press.

Jeremy Atack, Vanderbilt University, was awarded the inaugural Engerman-Goldin Prize for creating, compiling, and sharing data and information with scholars.

The EHA Board approved two new awards this year to be awarded to up to two people annually at the discretion of the JEH Editors. The award for Excellence in Refereeing for the Journal of Economic History went to Laura Salisbury, York University, and Walker Hanlon, New York University. The award for Exceptional Service to the Journal of Economic History Editorial Board went to Sumner La Croix, University of Hawaii.

Congratulations to the 2018 awardees!