The Economic History Association announced the 2017 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in San Jose, CA.

Vellore Arthi received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Human Capital Formation and the American Dust Bowl”, completed at the University of Oxford. Advisors: James Fenske, Jane Humphries (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Michela Giorcelli received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Economic Recovery and the Determinants of Production and Innovation: Evidence from Post-WWII Italy”, completed at Stanford University. Advisors: Ran Abramitzky (chair), Nick Bloom, Pascaline Dupas, and Melanie Morten

Nicholas Crafts, University of Warwick, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Trevon Logan and John Parman were awarded the Cole Prize for their article “The National Rise in Segregation”, published in the March 2017 issue of the Journal of Economic History.

Bruce Campbell, Queen’s University_Belfast, was awarded the Gyorgi Ranki Prize  for his book, The Great Transition: Climate, Disease and Society in the Late-Medieval World, Cambridge University Press 2016.

Michael Haines, Colgate University, was awarded the inaugural Robert Gallman/William Parker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Data Preservation.

Congratulations to the 2017 awardees!