The Economic History Association announced the 2015 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in Nashville, TN.

Andrew Goodman-Bacon received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Three Essays in Health Policy Evaluation”, completed at the University of Michigan. Advisor: Martha J. Bailey (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Jose-Antonio Espin-Sanchez received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “The Illiquidity of Water Markets”, completed at Northwestern University. Advisors: Joel Mokyr, Joesph Ferrie, Regina Grafe, Robert Porter

Price Fishback, University of Arizona, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Price Fishback, University of Arizona, and Valentina Kachanovskaya, University of Arizona, were awarded the Cole Prize for their article “The Multiplier for the States in the Great Depression.”, published in the March 2015 issue of the Journal of Economic History.

Gregory Clark, University of California_Davis, was awarded the Gyorgy Ranki Prize for his book,The Son Also Rises:  Surnames and the History of Social Mobility, Princeton University Press 2014.

Congratulations to the 2015 awardees!