JOIN EHA

DONATE

SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 11
 
EHA Breakfast: 7 – 8.30 AM (Plaza Lobby). Full breakfast free to all conference participants, compliments of EHA.
 
SESSION 5: Sunday 8:30 – 10:00 AM
A: Banking during the Great Depression (Plaza A)
Chair: Scott Sumner, Bentley University (ssumner@bentley.edu)
 
Mark Carlson (Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve) (mark.a.carlson@frb.gov) and Jonathan Rose (Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve) (jonathan.d.rose@frb.gov), “Credit Availability and the Collapse of the Banking Sector in the 1930s.”
            Discussant: Joe Mason, LSU (masonj@lsu.edu)
 
Mrdjan Mladjan (Universitat Pompeu Fabra) (mrdjan.mladjan@upf.edu), “Accelerating into the Abyss: Financial Dependence and the Great Depression.”
            Discussant:  Joe Mason, LSU (masonj@lsu.edu)
 
Patrick Van Horn (New College of Florida) (pvanhorn@ncf.edu) and Gary Richardson (University of California, Irvine and NBER) (garyr@uci.edu), “When the Music Stopped: Transatlantic Contagion During  the Financial Crisis of 1931.”  
            Discussant: Olivier Accominetti (oaccomin@princeton.edu)
 
B: From Here to There and from There to Here: Migration (Plaza B)
Chair: Jerry Friedman, Massachusetts (gfriedma@econs.umass.edu)
 
Ran Abramitzky, Stanford (ranabr@stanford.edu), Leah Boustan, UCLA (lboustan@econ.ucla.edu), and Katherine Eriksson, UCLA (kath722@ucla.edu), “A Nation of Immigrants: Assimilation and Economic Outcomes in the Age of Mass Migration.”
            Discussant: Robert Margo, Boston University (margora@bu.edu)
 
Marianne Wanamaker (University of Tennessee) (wanamaker@utk.edu) and William Collins (Vanderbilt University) (william.collins@vanderbilt.edu), “The Great Migration of African Americans: New Insights from Linked Census Data.”
            Discussant: Chris Minns, LSE (C.Minns@lse.ac.uk)
 
Martina Viarengo, LSE and Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University (martina_viarengo@hks.harvard.edu), Oriana Bandiera, LSE (o.bandiera@lse.ac.uk), and Imran Rasul, University College London (i.rasul@ucl.ac.uk), “The Making of Modern America: Accounting for Migratory Inflows and Outflows During the Age of Mass Migration.”
            Discussant: Farley Grubb, Delaware (grubbf@udel.edu)
 
Coffee Break: 10.00 – 10.30 AM (Plaza Lobby)
 
SESSION 6: Sunday 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM (Plaza A)
 
A: Financial Markets in Peace, War, and Civil Unrest
Chair: Eric Hilt, Wellesley College (ehilt@wellesley.edu)
 
Caroline Fohlin (Johns Hopkins University) (fohlin@jhu.edu), “Transforming the NYSE: Market Microstructure and Liquidity during World War I.
Discussant: David Chambers, Judge Business School, Cambridge (d.chambers@jbs.cam.ac.uk)
 
Hans-Joachim Voth, Pompeu Fabra (jvoth@crei.cat), Jacopo Ponticelli, Pompeu Fabra (jacopo.ponticelli@upf.edu), “Austerity and Anarchy: A Century of Fiscal Consolidation and Social Unrest.
Discussant: Marc Weidenmier, Claremont McKenna (marc.weidenmier@claremontmckenna.edu)
Stefan Houpt, Carlos III, Madrid (shoupt@clio.uc3m.es) and Stefano Battilossi, Carlos III, Madrid (battilos@clio.uc3m.es), “Predicting Institutional Collapse? Financial Markets and Political Violence at the Onset of the Spanish Civil War.
Discussant: Marc Weidenmier, Claremont McKenna (marc.weidenmier@claremontmckenna.edu)
 
B: Can You Spare a Dollar/Guilder/Quid Until Payday? Small Scale Lending from the 17th to 20th Centuries (Plaza B)
Chair: Martha Olney, University of California, Berkeley (olney@econ.berkeley.edu)
 
Christiaan van Bochove, Utrecht (C.J.vanBochove@uu.nl) and Ton van Velzen, Dutch National Archives (ton.van.velzen@nationaalarchief.nl), “Loans for Salaried Employees: The Case of the Dutch East India Company, 1602-1795.”  
  
Eoin McLaughlin (University of Edinburgh) (eoin.mclaughlin@ed.ac.uk), “Regulation and Crises in Microfinance: Irish Loan Fund Societies, 1830-1914.”
 
 Gunnar Trumbull (Harvard Business School) (gtrumbull@hbs.edu), “Regulating for Legitimacy: Consumer Credit Access in France and America.”
 
Discussant: Timothy Guinnane, Yale (timothy.guinnane@yale.edu)
 
Conference ends at noon.