The Lindert-Williamson Triennial Prize

The Peter Lindert-Jeffrey Williamson Prize is awarded every third year for an Outstanding Book in Global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American Economic History


The Lindert-Williamson Prize for an outstanding book in global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American economic history will be presented at the Association’s annual meeting in September of 2019. This $1,200 prize is awarded triennially, and will be offered concurrently with either the Ranki Prize for a book in European economic history, or the Jones Prize for a book in North American economic history.

Eligibility and Nominations: Only books published in English during 2016, 2017, or 2018 are eligible for the 2019 prize. The author need not be a member of the Association. Authors, publishers, or anyone else may nominate books. Authors or publishers should send a copy of the book, plus a curriculum vitae of the author(s), with current information on addresses and telephone numbers, to each member of the committee.

Some books are comparative in their coverage, and could potentially be considered for multiple prizes. They may be nominated for whichever prize seems appropriate, but final decision will be made by the appropriate committees.  No book may be considered for more than one prize.  Once considered for a prize, a book may not subsequently be nominated for a different prize.

Committee Chair:

Lee Alston
Ostrom Workshop, Indiana University
513 North Park Avenue
Bloomington IN 47408

Other committee members:

Tim Hatton
Address until July 1, 2019:
Research School of Economics
Australian National University
Canberra ACT 2601
After July 1, 2019:
Department of Economics
University of Essex
Colchester CO4 3SQ

Sevket Pamuk


Tetsuji Okazaki
Faculty of Economics
The University of Tokyo
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku
Tokyo 113-0033

Latika Chaudhary Hartmann
Graduate School of Business and Public Policy
Naval Postgraduate School
1 University Circle
Monterey, CA 93943

Marlous van Waijenburg