Jonathan Hughes Prize

Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History

The annual Jonathan Hughes Prize is awarded to recognize excellence in teaching economic history. Jonathan Hughes was an outstanding scholar and a committed and influential teacher of economic history. The prize includes a $1,200 cash award. The winner is selected by the EHA Committee on Education and Teaching.


The Committee on Education of the Economic History Association invites nominations for the fourteenth annual Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History. Letters of nomination should state what qualities of excellence the candidate’s teaching of economic history has embodied. The strength of the nominating letter will be the primary basis for selecting the pool of finalists for the prize. After arriving at a short list of finalists, the committee will gather further supporting information. Anyone is eligible to write a letter of nomination.

Letters of nomination should be sent to:

Professor Ran Abramitzky

Department of Economics
579 Serra Mall
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305-6072

Other members of the committee are:

Professor Katharine Shester

Washington and Lee University
Huntley Hall
Lexington, VA 24450

Professor Karen Clay

Carnegie Mellon University
Heinz College
5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213