Alice Hanson Jones Biennial Prize

The Alice Hanson Jones Biennial Prize is awarded every other year for an Outstanding Book on North American Economic History.



The Alice Hanson Jones Prize for an outstanding book in North American (including Caribbean) economic history will be presented at the Association’s annual meeting in September of 2018. This $1,200 prize is awarded biennially and alternates with the Gyorgi Ranki Prize for a book in European economic history.

Eligibility and Nominations: Only books published in English during 2016 or 2017 are eligible for the 2018 prize. The author need not be a member of the Association. Authors, publishers, or anyone else may nominate books. Authors or publishers should send a copy of the book, plus a curriculum vitae of the author(s), with current information on addresses and telephone numbers, to each member of the committee.

Selection Committee:

Professor John Murray
Department of Economics
Rhodes College
225 Buckman Hall
2000 N. Parkway
Memphis, TN 38112-1690

Professor Claudia Olivetti

Department of Economics
Boston College
140 Commonwealth Avenue
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3806

Professor Mike Haines
Department of Economics
Colgate University
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346-1398

Professor Peter Rousseau
Vanderbilt University
Box 1819, Station B
Nashville, TN 37235

Professor Joseph Ferrie
Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2600