About the Economic History Association

The Economic History Association was founded in 1940. Its purpose is to encourage and promote teaching, research, and publication on every phase of economic history, broadly defined, and to encourage and assist in the preservation and administration of the materials for research in economic history. The Association publishes The Journal of Economic History and a Newsletter, and holds an...
Read More

2014 Prizes Awarded at Annual Meeting

The Economic History Association announced the 2014 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in Columbus, Ohio.

Joshua Lewis received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation ” The Impact of Technological Change Withing the Home”, completed at the University of Toronto. Advisors: Dwayne Benjamin, Robert McMillan, Aloysius Siow, and Mark Stabile (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Tyler Beck Goodspeed received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Essays in British Financial History”, completed at Harvard University. Advisor: Richard Hornbeck

David Weiman, Columbia University, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Martha Bailey, University of Michigan, and Nicolas Duquette, University of Southern California, were awarded the Cole Prize for their article “How Johnson Fought the War on Poverty: The Politics and Economics of Funding at the Office of Economic Opportunity”, published in the June 2014 issue of the Journal of Economic History.

Gavin Wright, Stanford University, was awarded the Alice Hanson Jones Prize for his book, Sharing the Prize: The Economics of the Civil Rights Revolution in the American South(Harvard University Press, 2013)

Congratulations to the 2014 awardees!