About the Economic History Association

The Economic History Association was founded in 1940. Its purpose is to encourage and promote teaching, research, and publication on every phase of economic history, broadly defined, and to encourage and assist in the preservation and administration of the materials for research in economic history. The Association publishes The Journal of Economic History and a Newsletter, and holds an...
Read More

Economic History Association 2017 Annual Meeting


Annual Meeting of the Economic History Association, in San Jose, California September 15 -17, 2017

 The theme for EHA 2017 is “ Macroeconomic Regimes and Policies: the Quest for Economic and Financial Stability and Growth”. Beginning in the second half of the twentieth century, economic historians began to explore macroeconomic history, creating a vast new realm for research. This year the conference will be devoted to this continuing development inviting institutional, narrative, theoretical and empirical research in macroeconomic history. Topics of interest are wide ranging including: the history and origins of monetary, fiscal and financial institutions and markets; monetary and exchange rate regimes (specie, fiat); fiscal regimes; the history of central banks and monetary policy; and the relationship between macroeconomic regimes and policy in causing or correcting major economic and financial disturbances (depressions, recessions, inflations, deflations and financial crises) as well as influencing economic growth. The studies could be comparative, country specific or global.


The Program Committee (Christopher M. Meissner, UC Davis (chair), together with Carola Frydman (Northwestern University), Zorina Khan (Bowdoin College) and Dave Donaldson (Stanford University) welcomes submissions on all subjects in economic history, though some preference will be given to papers that fit the theme of the conference.


For more information refer to the Call for Papers. The submission system is now CLOSED. The deadline was January 31, 2017.


Graduate students are encouraged to attend the meeting. The Association offers subsidies for travel, hotel, registration, and meals, including a special graduate student dinner. For more information click here.


Pre-Registration will open on June 1, 2017.

2016 Prizes Awarded at Annual Meeting

The Economic History Association announced the 2016 prize winners at the Annual Meeting held recently in Boulder, CO.

James Feigenbaum received the Allan Nevins Prize for the Best Dissertation in U.S. or Canadian Economic History, for his dissertation “Essays on Intergenerational Mobility and Inequality in Economic History”, completed at the Harvard University. (This prize is awarded on behalf of Columbia University Press.)

Reka Juhasz received the Alexander Gerschenkron Prize for the Best Dissertation in non-US or Canadian Economic History, for her dissertation “Temporary Protection, Technology Adoption and Economic Development”, completed at London School of Economics. Advisor: Silvana Tenreyro

Frank Lewis, Queen’s University, was awarded the annual Jonathan Hughes Prize honoring excellence in teaching economic history.

Werner Troesken, Brian Beach, Joe Ferrie, and Martin Saavedrawere were awarded the Cole Prize for their article “Typhoid Fever, Water Quality, and Human Capital Formation.”, published in the March 2016 issue of the Journal of Economic History.

Barry Eichengreen, University of California_Berkeley, was awarded the Alice Hanson Jones Prize for his book, Hall of Mirrors: The Great Depression, The Great Recession, and the Uses-and Misuses-of History, Oxford University Press 2015.

Congratulations to the 2016 awardees!

Strengthened partnership between Cambridge University Press and the EHA

Cambridge University Press and the Economic History Association (EHA) are delighted to announce the creation of an endowment to support three new EHA awards–the Cambridge University Press Dissertation Fellowship and two Cambridge University Press Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants.
The first awards were made this year.

The Dissertation Fellowship was awarded to Eduardo Montero of Harvard University.

The Exploratory Grants were awarded to Cathrin Mohr of the University of Munich and to Erin McGuire of the University of Arizona.

Both Cambridge University Press and the EHA are proud to support these awards, signalling a commitment to the development of the future leaders of the field, whose research will direct the study of economic history throughout the world.

Award funding

A new EHA endowment fund will be created specifically for these two awards composed of financial sponsorship from Cambridge University Press and funds EHA will contribute itself.

Each year the EHA will pay from the endowment a fixed amount of US$15,000 which will be divided between the Awards as follows:

•    One dissertation fellowship of $10,000; and
•    Two pre-dissertation grants of $2,500 each

The $10,000 dissertation fellowship will be awarded each year to a Ph.D. student who is completing his or her dissertation with plans to enter the job market.   It can be used as income and/or to cover research expenses.

Each of the two pre-dissertation grants will provide $2,500 to students for research expenses related to developing a dissertation in economic history, including travel to libraries and archives, data entry, and other non-income expenses related to performing the research.

Qualification requirements

Students must be members of the EHA to qualify, and the recipients of the fellowship and grants will be chosen by the EHA’s Committee on Research in Economic History from students who apply by January each year, commencing in 2016.

Further information can be found online here.

Congratulations to the 2016 EHA Grants and Fellowship Winners

Each year the Economic History Association awards numerous grants and fellowships to deserving young scholars.   Cambridge University Press made a generous donation to help the EHA endow one of the Dissertation Fellowships and two of the Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants.

The 2016 awardees are:

Arthor H. Cole Grant in Aid for Post-Doctoral Research :
Mark Anderson, Montana State University
Cihan Artunc, University of Arizona
Amanda Gregg, Middlebury College
Eoin McLaughlin, St. Andrews University

Economic History Association Dissertation Fellowships
Edward Fertik, Yale University
Santiago Perez, Stanford University

Cambridge University Press Dissertation Fellowship
Eduardo Montero, Harvard University

Sokoloff Dissertation Fellowship
Gillian Brunet, University of California_Berkeley
Arianna Ornaghi, MIT

Cambridge University Press Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants
Erin McGuire, University of Arizona
Cathrin Mohr, University of Munich

Economic History Association Pre-Dissertation Exploratory Grants
Aviv Derri, New York University
Victor Gay, University of Chicago
Trevor Jackson, University of California_Berkeley
S. Wright Kennedy, Rice University
Jeremy Land, Georgia State University
Scott Miller, University of Virginia
Samuel Milner, Yale University
Maria Montalvo, Rice University
Chenzi Xu, Harvard University

For more information on the Grants and Fellowships awarded by EHA go to: http://eh.net/eha/grants-and-fellowships/